?Reliability badges
Reliability badges: no badge — confirmed; company data research estimate, not confirmed by filings sources disagree being verified
Part 1 of 6
Property, owners and corporate structure
Property profile
Lanserhof Lans is the first resort of the Lanserhof network and the place where its medical model took shape. It sits on a sunny terrace above Innsbruck, on the edge of the village of Lans (Innsbruck-Land district, Tyrol) at the foot of the Patscherkofel, at about 850 m above sea level and next to a larch forest. The 1974 building operated as a resort hotel and, from 1984, as an F.X. Mayr fasting cure centre.
Today it is a 67-key medical health resort (about 120 beds) that sells accommodation only together with a medical programme: the minimum stay is seven nights, programme and room are charged separately, plus a mandatory daily flat rate. In 2016 Christoph Ingenhoven’s practice rebuilt the complex in eight months: a new oval wing with a bathhouse and 16 rooms and suites, plus a refurbished entrance level and treatment floor. The rebuild cost about €25m.
The property belongs to a group developed since 1998 by Tyrolean lawyer and hotelier Christian Harisch and his partners. Since January 2026 the operating company Lanserhof GmbH has been wholly owned by the German holding Lanserhof Management GmbH; in October 2025 the group raised €95m of outside capital while the existing shareholders kept control.
Key figures
Medical resort since
1984
Rooms and suites
67
≈ 120 beds
Altitude
≈ 850 m
2016 rebuild
≈ €25m
5,858 m² of works
Classic programme, 7 nights
€2,940
excl. room, 2026
Room, per night
€350–3,020
2026
Daily flat rate
€63
per person
RELAX Guide 2026
4 lilies, 20/20
History: from mountain hotel to the first medical health resort
The property went through three stages. First, a classic 1970s hotel. Second, from 1984, a Mayr fasting cure resort founded and run until 2012 by managing partner Andreas Wieser; this is where the method later called the LANS Med Concept took shape. Third, from 1998, when the property passed to Christian Harisch and partners, who turned it into a brand and built a network around it.
Timeline
- 1974
resort hotel built in Lans
- 1982
company now called Lanserhof GmbH set up (former name Gesundheitszentrum Lanserhof Kurhotel GmbH)
- 1984
Mayr fasting cure centre opens; founder and managing partner until 2012 — Andreas Wieser
- 1997–1998
Christian Harisch and partners buy the property; their holding vehicle becomes the sole shareholder of the operating company sources disagree
- 2000
in-house sleep laboratory opens company data
- 2004
first industry award as Europe’s leading health resort company data
- 2009–2013
European Health & Spa Award, Best Medical Spa, five years running company data
- 2012
LANS Medicum outpatient centre in Hamburg — the first location outside Lans
- 2014
Lanserhof Tegernsee (Bavaria) opens, designed by the same architect
- 2016–2017
rebuild and new oval wing in Lans: construction May–December 2016, reopening in early 2017
- 2019
Lanserhof at The Arts Club in London
- 2022
Lanserhof Sylt opens — the network’s first seaside resort
- 2024
40th anniversary; construction of Lanserhof Marbella in Spain begins
- 2025
€95m of outside investment in the group
- 2026
Lanserhof GmbH becomes wholly owned by Lanserhof Management GmbH
Sources differ on when the current owners took over: an interview with Harisch says 1997 (purchase of the spa hotel), industry press and the change of shareholder on record say 1998. The deal was probably agreed in 1997 and completed in 1998. sources disagree
Owners and beneficiaries
The resort is run by the Austrian company Lanserhof GmbH (Lans, Tyrol; share capital €200,000). From 1998 to 2025 its sole shareholder was GHL Beteiligung und Verwaltung GmbH of Kitzbühel, a vehicle of Christian Harisch and partners. In February 2025 three partner companies became shareholders — AP Beteiligungs- und Finanzierungs-GmbH, Pletzer Stiftungsconsulting GmbH and Rutter Leasing GmbH — and on 14–20 January 2026 all shares passed to the group holding Lanserhof Management GmbH (Waakirchen, Bavaria).
Ownership structure (January 2026)
Partners: C. Harisch, A. Pletzer, S. Rutter research estimate, not confirmed by filings
main shareholders of the group through their companies
AltamarCAM · King Street · Manuel Puig
minority investors in the group since 2025 (€95m)
Lanserhof Management GmbH
group holding and management company, Germany, since 2014
Lanserhof GmbH
operator of the Lans resort, 100%
LHM Management GmbH research estimate, not confirmed by filings
service management company in Austria
Lanserhof Lans
67 keys, since 1984
Companies around the property
| Company | Country | Role | Management |
|---|---|---|---|
| Lanserhof GmbH (FN 47619 d) | Austria, Lans | resort operator: hotel, spa, medical centre | managing directors Anton Pletzer (since 1998), Stefan Rutter (since 2011), Christian Harisch (since 2012) |
| Lanserhof Management GmbH | Germany, Waakirchen | group holding, sole shareholder of Lanserhof GmbH since 2026 | Christian Harisch (since 2014), Christian Siegling (since 2025) |
| LHM Management GmbH | Austria, Lans | management and service functions; set up in 2018, merged with a sister entity in 2019 | Christian Harisch research estimate, not confirmed by filings |
| GHL Beteiligung und Verwaltung GmbH | Austria, Kitzbühel | shareholder of Lanserhof GmbH in 1998–2025; client of the 2016 rebuild according to the architect | Christian Harisch |
| INDEO — institute of integrative medicine | Austria, Lans | non-profit association linked to the resort: training and research (Lanserhof Academy) | — |
Founders and key people
| Name | Role |
|---|---|
| Andreas Wieser | founder of the resort in 1984 and managing partner until 2012; author of the original method |
| Christian Harisch | Tyrolean lawyer and hotelier, CEO and co-founder of the Lanserhof Group, co-owner since 1998 |
| Anton Pletzer | Tyrolean entrepreneur, partner and managing director of Lanserhof GmbH since 1998 |
| Stefan Rutter | partner, managing director of Lanserhof GmbH since 2011 |
| Christian Siegling | managing director of the Lanserhof Management GmbH holding since 2025 |
The partners’ stakes in the holding are not disclosed; all that is known is that the existing shareholders kept the majority after the 2025 deal. research estimate, not confirmed by filings
Group capital: outside investors and consolidation
Until the 2020s the partners funded growth with their own money: according to Harisch, the Sylt resort cost about €130m instead of the planned €100m and was paid for by the partners. The next stage needed outside capital. In 2023 Spanish asset manager AltamarCAM and developer Inbest-GPF agreed to build Lanserhof Marbella (more than €100m). In October 2025 AltamarCAM, through a regulated fund, and a consortium led by King Street Capital Management, joined by Manuel Puig, invested €95m in the group — for new centres in 2027–2030, an in-house supplements and cosmetics line and new regions.
Capital and structure: milestones
- 1998
partners’ holding vehicle becomes sole shareholder of Lanserhof GmbH
- 2014
Lanserhof Management GmbH holding registered in Germany
- 2020–2022
pandemic state support for Lanserhof GmbH: liquidity aid of about €10.4m (2020), fixed-cost subsidy of about €0.8m (2021), liquidity aid of about €0.26m (2022)
- 2023
Lanserhof Marbella agreed with AltamarCAM and Inbest-GPF; equity of Lanserhof GmbH jumps to €42.8m
- 2024
Lanserhof GmbH capital moved up to the holding; the holding reports €51m of investments in subsidiaries research estimate, not confirmed by filings
- 2025
February — three partner companies become shareholders of Lanserhof GmbH; October — €95m of outside investment
- 2026
January — Lanserhof GmbH wholly owned by Lanserhof Management GmbH
The sequence — a jump in the operating company’s equity in 2023, its transfer to the holding in 2024, the reshuffle of shareholders in 2025–2026 and the investor deal — looks like the preparation of a single holding structure to take in outside capital. The company has not commented on the reasons for the reorganisation. research estimate, not confirmed by filings
Regulatory status: hotel and medical facility
Formally Lanserhof GmbH is registered as a hotel business: its activity description is a four-star hotel “Lanserhof” with an indoor pool, saunas, fitness, conference rooms, beauty and massage salons and a health shop. In practice it operates as a private medical facility: the resort’s physicians practise at the resort address, programmes include medical examinations, laboratory diagnostics, infusions and extracorporeal treatments, and guests receive an invoice with a separate list of medical services for private insurance.
Harisch describes the format as “a clinic with the atmosphere of a five-star hotel”. The dual status gives hotel-style pricing flexibility while allowing the sale of medical services; for a developer it means the licensing and hygiene side of the project must be planned from day one rather than added to a hotel. The resort does not guarantee insurance reimbursement. company data
Part 2 of 6
Finance and guest economics
Operating company accounts, 2020–2024
Lanserhof GmbH publishes only its balance sheet (in Austria small and medium-sized companies need not disclose a profit and loss account). Five years of accounts show two things: the operating company owns few fixed assets, and in 2023–2024 a large intra-group transaction passed through its balance sheet.
Lanserhof GmbH balance sheet at 31 December, €
| Item | 2020 | 2021 | 2022 | 2023 | 2024 | 2024 vs 2023 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Total assets | 17,947,070 | 27,170,178 | 15,792,854 | 52,307,930 | 8,917,089 | −83.0% |
| Fixed assets | 4,912,554 | 4,700,242 | 4,715,915 | 2,160,450 | 1,957,319 | −9.4% |
| — tangible assets | — | — | — | — | 1,392,320 (71%) | — |
| — financial assets | — | — | — | — | 488,393 (25%) | — |
| — intangible assets | — | — | — | — | 76,606 (4%) | — |
| Current assets | 11,910,775 | 21,632,888 | 10,524,513 | 49,696,275 | 6,789,079 | −86.3% |
| — receivables | — | — | — | — | 6,157,203 (91%) | — |
| — inventories | — | — | — | — | 455,317 (7%) | — |
| — cash | — | — | — | — | 176,559 (3%) | — |
| Equity | 5,620,122 | 6,053,686 | 6,439,186 | 42,802,122 | −1,084,158 | — |
| — share capital | 200,000 | 200,000 | 200,000 | 200,000 | 200,000 | 0% |
| — accumulated result | — | — | — | — | −1,284,158 | — |
| Provisions | — | — | — | — | 1,629,012 | — |
| Liabilities | — | — | — | — | 8,347,404 | — |
Official annual accounts of the company; rounded to the euro. “—” — item not disclosed in the abridged balance sheet.
Total assets and equity, €m
Green bar — total assets, grey — equity; equity is negative in 2024.
Balance sheet at 31.12.2024
Total assets
€8.92m
−83% year on year
Receivables
€6.16m
91% of current assets
Tangible assets
€1.39m
71% of fixed assets
Equity
−€1.08m
result −€1.28m
Reading the balance sheet: operator, property and intra-group flows
The first observation is an asset-light operator model. About €25m went into the 2016 rebuild, yet Lanserhof GmbH’s fixed assets never exceeded €4.9m and fell below €2m in 2024. The architect names GHL Beteiligung und Verwaltung GmbH as client for the new wing, some publications name Lanserhof Marienstein GmbH (the group’s Tegernsee company). The buildings and capital spending are probably carried by a property company of the group rather than by the operator, while Lanserhof GmbH holds equipment, medical technology and intra-group balances. research estimate, not confirmed by filings
The second is an intra-group restructuring. In 2023 total assets grew 3.3-fold (+231%), current assets 4.7-fold and equity from €6.44m to €42.80m. In 2024 the balance sheet shrank by 83% and, after reserves were distributed and the year closed at −€1.28m, equity turned negative (−€1.08m against share capital of €200,000). At the Lanserhof Management GmbH holding on the same date, total assets were about €56.6m, of which about €51.1m were investments in subsidiaries, with a capital reserve of about €51.0m. research estimate, not confirmed by filings
The third is liquidity. At the end of 2024, 91% of the operator’s current assets were receivables, with only €0.18m in cash. This is typical of a group with central cash management, where resort revenue is pooled at holding level and shows at the operator as a receivable from the group. research estimate, not confirmed by filings
The Lanserhof Management GmbH holding
The German holding (registered in 2014, share capital €25,000; address at Lanserhof Tegernsee, previously Hamburg) also discloses its profit and loss account. According to the study, its own 2024 revenue — management and service fees from the resorts — was about €9.66m. This is not the revenue of the Lans resort.
Lanserhof Management GmbH, 2024, €
Revenue
9.66m
Other operating expenses
4.87m
Wages and salaries
2.69m
+ 0.60m social charges
Depreciation
0.90m
Cost of materials
0.48m
Interest
0.21m
Income tax
0.18m
Related-party balances
+2.25 / −3.33m
receivables / payables
Resort revenue and efficiency
The company does not disclose Lans revenue. There are two independent reference points from the late 2010s: Austria’s 2019 ranking of its largest hotels — €19.7m for the 2016/17 financial year with 67 rooms and 106 employees (7th–8th among the country’s thermal and health hotels by revenue) — and the business press — about €17m for 2017. For comparison, the average revenue of Austria’s 38 largest resort hotels in the same ranking was €13.85m (median €12.86m), and the median for the country’s four- and five-star hotels in an industry balance-sheet comparison was €1.26m. sources disagree
Derived indicators (2016/17)
Revenue
€17–19.7m
Per room per year
€254–294k
Per employee
≈ €186k
Occupancy
>90%
2017
Employees
106
1.6 per room
Revenue per occupied room-night
≈ €770–900
Revenue per room per year, €k (2016/17)
Calculation: revenue / number of rooms; occupied room-nights = 67 × 365 × 90%.
On this measure Lans was 1.5 times ahead of the leader of the Austrian resort ranking and 3.7 times ahead of the median. The study also cites annual revenue of about €22.5m and 79% occupancy; these are not supported by documents. research estimate, not confirmed by filings
Economics of a guest week
A guest bill has four layers. First, the room (room only, from €350 a night in 2026). Second, the mandatory medical programme: accommodation is not sold without it, and the basic Lanserhof Classic costs €2,940 for 7–8 nights. Third, a daily flat rate of €63 per person: on-call and night doctor service, lectures, evening programme, group classes. Fourth, everything the doctor prescribes beyond the package: lab tests, genetics and microbiome, infusions, supplements and medication, treatments such as INUSpheresis.
Minimum week (7 nights) at 2026 prices, €
| Component | One guest, Single Classic | Two guests, Double Garden View |
|---|---|---|
| Room | 7 × 350 = 2,450 | 7 × 750 = 5,250 |
| Lanserhof Classic programme | 2,940 | 2 × 2,940 = 5,880 |
| Daily flat rate €63 pp | 441 | 882 |
| Total | 5,831 | 12,012 (6,006 per person) |
| Additional prescriptions | often 3–8k research estimate, not confirmed by filings | often 3–8k per person research estimate, not confirmed by filings |
| Typical actual weekly spend | 10–15k research estimate, not confirmed by filings | — |
The study’s total for a couple (€9,310) used the double room rate for one guest; under the 2026 price list a double room for two costs from €750 a night.
About 70% of guests come alone, so single rooms (20 m²) are the backbone of occupancy; the recommended stay is 14 nights, the average about 10 nights, and 68% of guests return every year (company data for 2017). company data
Part 3 of 6
2026 prices
Pricing model
Prices are published openly and run for a calendar year (the 2026 list is valid 1 January–31 December 2026; programme prices from 4–5 December 2025). Room and programme are charged separately, the programme in length bands (7–8, 9–11, 12–16, 17–21 nights), per person, excluding supplements and medication. Among comparable longevity clinics, Lanserhof is one of the few that publish a full price list for programmes and rooms.
- minimum stay seven nights, only with a programme; short four-night retreats are sold separately
- arrival on Sundays by 5 pm, rooms from 3 pm, check-out by 11 am; early arrival and late departure cost 50% of the daily room rate
- €63 per person daily flat rate — a binding part of the package, non-refundable
- the room category is fixed after a deposit; the treatment plan is prepared once it arrives
- guests from 16 years accompanied by an adult; no pets
Rooms and suites: 2026 rates
Rooms, rate per night (room only), 2026, €
| Item | Nights | Price | Per day | Includes |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Single Room Classic, 20 m², 1 guest | — | from €350 | — | |
| Single Room Garden View, 20 m² | — | from €400 | — | |
| Single Room Mountain View, 20 m² | — | from €450 | — | |
| Double Room Garden View, 20–45 m² | — | €490 – €750 | — | 1 / 2 guests |
| Double Room Superior Mountain View | — | €530 – €790 | — | 1 / 2 guests |
| Double Room Deluxe Mountain View (balcony) | — | €630 – €890 | — | 1 / 2 guests |
| Grand Double Room, 55–58 m² | — | €690 – €950 | — | 1 / 2 guests |
| Lanser Suite, ≈ 50 m² | — | €900 – €1,160 | — | 1 / 2 guests |
| Loft Suite, 55–70 m² | — | €990 – €1,250 | — | 1 / 2 guests |
| Rooftop Suite, ≈ 50 m² + rooftop terrace | — | from €1,250 | — | 1 guest |
| Corner Suite, ≈ 65 m² | — | from €1,400 | — | 1 guest |
| Panorama Suite, 100 m², sauna | — | €2,500 – €3,020 | — | 1–2 / 3 / 4 guests |
Rate per room per night; the range runs from one guest to maximum occupancy.
Rate per square metre, € per night (2026)
| Category | Area, m² | € / m² per night | Features |
|---|---|---|---|
| Single Room | 20 | 17.5–22.5 | building-biology finishes, mains cut-off switch, shower and shower toilet |
| Grand Double Room | 55–58 | 11.9–17.3 | combined living-sleeping area, balcony to the garden or the Nordkette; some with a second bedroom |
| Lanser Suite | ≈ 50 | 18.0–23.2 | large balcony, bathroom with tub and double basin; some with steam or infrared shower |
| Loft Suite | 55–70 | 14.1–22.7 | north side, open plan, walk-in wardrobe |
| Rooftop Suite | ≈ 50 | 25.0 | private rooftop terrace with a 360° view |
| Corner Suite | ≈ 65 | 21.5 | entrance hall with wardrobe, two WCs |
| Panorama Suite | 100 | 25.0–30.2 | loft with private sauna and a second bedroom |
Calculation: nightly rate / area; the top suites and compact single rooms earn the most per square metre.
Core programmes: Classic and Classic Plus
Lanserhof Classic is the base of every stay: an initial examination (50 min), two medical examinations with manual abdominal treatment, a findings discussion, a final examination, two therapeutic massages, foot reflexology, detox drainage, an algae pack with liver wrap, a detox foot bath, salt therapy with bath (stays of 10 nights or more), bioimpedance analysis, lactate diagnostics and urinalysis. Classic Plus adds a birch-and-juniper detox pack, detox cleansing, craniosacral and energetic therapy, sports-science diagnostics (VO2max, hand strength) and Fibroscan liver elastography.
Core programmes excluding accommodation, 2026, € per person
| Item | Nights | Price | Per day | Includes |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lanserhof Classic | 7–8 | from €2,940 | — | |
| Lanserhof Classic | 9–11 | from €3,907 | — | |
| Lanserhof Classic | 12–16 | from €4,909 | — | |
| Lanserhof Classic | 17–21 | from €6,120 | — | |
| Lanserhof Classic Plus | 7–8 | from €3,990 | — | |
| Lanserhof Classic Plus | 9–11 | from €4,957 | — | |
| Lanserhof Classic Plus | 12–16 | from €5,959 | — | |
| Lanserhof Classic Plus | 17–21 | from €7,170 | — |
Plus the €63 per person daily flat rate and the room.
The programme cost per night falls with length: Classic is €420 a night for 7 nights and about €290 for 21 nights, which nudges guests towards the recommended two-week stays.
Focus programmes
On top of the base the resort sells focus programmes. Six are published for Lans in 2026: longevity, weight-loss injection management, mental health, hormone balance, post-COVID recovery and an INUSpheresis course.
Focus programmes excluding accommodation, 2026, € per person
| Item | Nights | Price | Per day | Includes |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Longevity | 7–8 | from €6,618 | — | |
| Longevity | 9–11 | from €8,125 | — | |
| Longevity | 12–16 | from €10,426 | — | |
| Weight Loss Injection Programme | 7–8 | from €5,358 | — | |
| Weight Loss Injection Programme | 9–11 | from €6,617 | — | |
| Weight Loss Injection Programme | 12–16 | from €7,776 | — | |
| Mental Health | 7–8 | from €3,805 | — | |
| Mental Health | 9–11 | from €4,522 | — | |
| Mental Health | 12–16 | from €5,976 | — | |
| Hormone Balance | 7–8 | from €3,998 | — | |
| Hormone Balance | 9–11 | from €4,602 | — | |
| Hormone Balance | 12–16 | from €5,567 | — | |
| Long COVID | 14 | from €4,897 | — | |
| INUSpheresis | 7 | from €7,920 | — |
The study quoted these programmes together with a Single room at the 2025 rate (€290 a night): Longevity €8,648, INUSpheresis €9,950, Long COVID for 14 nights €8,957. At 2026 prices (Single from €350) the same packages with a room cost €420 (7 nights) and €840 (14 nights) more.
Four-night short retreats
For guests without a free week there are short retreats: five days and four nights, with treatments scheduled after booking and limited room for individual wishes. They are an entry point to the brand for new guests and a way to fill rooms at the start and end of the week.
Four-night retreats excluding accommodation, 2026, € per person
| Item | Nights | Price | Per day | Includes |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Essential Health Check | 4 | from €3,967 | — | diagnostics including abdominal and thyroid ultrasound |
| Beauty Boost Intense | 4 | from €4,994 | — | |
| Me-Time | 4 | from €2,372 | — | |
| Beauty Boost | 4 | from €2,114 | — |
Treatments, charges and booking terms
Charges, single services and terms
| Item | Price / term |
|---|---|
| Daily flat rate (on-call and night doctor, lectures, group classes) | €63 per person per night |
| Early arrival / late departure | 50% of the daily room rate |
| Cancellation less than 4 weeks ahead | 50% of the room rate for the cancelled nights |
| Cancellation less than 7 days ahead | 90% of the room rate if the room is not resold |
| Late arrival or early departure without notice | 100% of the room rate for the nights missed |
| INUSpheresis session (180 min) | ≈ €2,650–2,800 research estimate, not confirmed by filings |
| Energy Cuisine Active diet | supplement ≈ €69 a day research estimate, not confirmed by filings |
| Lab tests, genetics, microbiome, infusions, supplements, medication | priced separately |
A deposit secures the room category; the study gives it as 50% of the room cost. Cancellation fees are calculated on the room only, not the programme — softer for the guest, but for the resort the medical part of revenue is lost on a late cancellation. research estimate, not confirmed by filings
Price history and the group package list
According to the study, before the 2016–2017 rebuild the basic programme (LANS Med Basic) cost €1,481 for one week and €2,708 for two; in 2026 Lanserhof Classic costs €2,940 and €4,909 — 2.0 and 1.8 times more over a decade, with occupancy held. The Single room rose from €290 (2025) to €350 (2026), or 21% in one year. research estimate, not confirmed by filings
Basic programme, 7 nights, excluding room, €
The study also gives a wider list of specialised Lanserhof medical packages (excluding accommodation) — from a light course at €1,925 to Longevity at €19,929 for 17–21 nights. These packages are not published for Lans in 2026, and its Classic Plus price (€4,046 for 7–8 nights) differs from the Lans list (€3,990); it is probably the list of another group resort or of an earlier year. The table is shown as a guide to the price spread within the brand. sources disagree
Group medical packages excluding accommodation, € (per the study; not confirmed for Lans)
| Package | 7–8 nights | 9–11 nights | 12–16 nights | 17–21 nights |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kur Classic Light research estimate, not confirmed by filings | 1,925 | — | — | — |
| Classic Plus research estimate, not confirmed by filings | 4,046 | 5,241 | 6,631 | — |
| Sleep apnoea (Schlafapnoe) research estimate, not confirmed by filings | 5,327 | 5,887 | 6,489 | 7,567 |
| Sleep Well research estimate, not confirmed by filings | 5,655 | 6,782 | 8,062 | 10,385 |
| Post Beauty research estimate, not confirmed by filings | 6,185 | — | — | 12,862 |
| Ortho Spine research estimate, not confirmed by filings | — | 6,957 | 9,643 | 12,696 |
| Ortho Post Op research estimate, not confirmed by filings | — | 7,287 | 9,440 | 12,291 |
| Stress-Resilience research estimate, not confirmed by filings | 7,564 | 9,472 | 12,193 | 15,039 |
| Breast Cancer Rehab research estimate, not confirmed by filings | — | 8,453 | 10,873 | 13,769 |
| Long COVID research estimate, not confirmed by filings | 8,674 | 10,283 | 12,900 | 15,745 |
| Women’s Health research estimate, not confirmed by filings | 9,410 | 11,217 | 13,633 | 16,676 |
| Longevity research estimate, not confirmed by filings | 9,510 | 12,550 | 15,628 | 19,929 |
| Pilates research estimate, not confirmed by filings | 9,810 | 12,553 | — | — |
| Boost Your Performance research estimate, not confirmed by filings | 9,820 | 11,986 | 14,252 | 18,363 |
| Men’s Health research estimate, not confirmed by filings | 10,227 | 12,232 | 14,846 | 18,087 |
Part 4 of 6
Location, rebuild and architecture
Location
The resort occupies a site on the edge of Lans (about 1,100 residents) on a mid-mountain terrace south-east of Innsbruck: larch forest and Alpine meadows on one side, a view of the Nordkette range on the other. Nearby are 9- and 18-hole golf courses, the Lanser See lake and walking trails; central Innsbruck and its airport are about 20 minutes by car, Munich about two hours. research estimate, not confirmed by filings
The altitude of about 850 m gives a mild mid-mountain climate. The study links this to better tolerance of therapeutic fasting; there is no specific research on the effect for resort guests. Neighbouring Igls is a historic spa with its own Mayr medicine centre (Park Igls), so the plateau above Innsbruck is an established Mayr cure cluster.
The 2016–2017 rebuild
After the success of Lanserhof Tegernsee (2014), designed by Christoph Ingenhoven, the group hired the same architect to renew its first resort. Construction ran from May to December 2016 — about eight months next to a working resort; the new wing welcomed guests in early 2017. The cost was about €25m.
Project figures
Gross floor area of works
5,858 m²
New build
4,370 m²
Refurbishment
1,488 m²
Cost
≈ €25m
Per m² of works
≈ €4,270
Per resort key
≈ €373k
Construction period
8 months
May–December 2016
Total complex area
≈ 9,000–10,000 m²
Sources differ on the new wing’s area: 4,370 m² of new build according to the architect and “a five-storey, 5,500 m² building” in the trade press (probably including below-ground levels). The room mix is “16 rooms and suites” for the architect and “16 rooms and two suites” in press releases; in addition two existing suites were enlarged and one gained its own sauna. sources disagree
Design team
Christoph Ingenhoven’s Düsseldorf practice (ingenhoven architects in 2016) was responsible for the whole project: new buildings, refurbishment of the existing ones and interior design. Lans is one of three group resorts designed by the practice (Tegernsee 2014, Lans 2016–2017, Sylt 2022).
Parties to the 2016–2017 project
| Role | Party | Data status |
|---|---|---|
| Architecture, general design, interiors | ingenhoven architects (Christoph Ingenhoven), Düsseldorf | confirmed |
| Client | GHL Beteiligung und Verwaltung GmbH (Kitzbühel) / Lanserhof Marienstein GmbH | sources differ sources disagree |
| Structural engineering (per the study) | Alfred R. Brunnsteiner ZT GmbH | firm appears in the credit list, role not confirmed research estimate, not confirmed by filings |
| Landscape | not disclosed (Enea at Tegernsee and Sylt) | — |
The new oval wing
One of the old guest houses south of the main building was demolished and replaced by an oval building linked to the main building and to the below-ground medical level. The shape is designed to shelter from the wind and give every room a mountain view without looking into its neighbours.
The complex by level
| Zone | What it holds |
|---|---|
| Roof of the new wing | planted roof garden merging into the meadows; 7 private terraces linked by stairs to the top-floor suites |
| Residential floors of the new wing (2) | 16 rooms and suites, 7 rooms and 1 suite per floor; red-cedar facade, balconies of varying depth, vertical timber fins |
| Ground floor of the new wing | bathhouse: three saunas, infrared sauna, indoor pool (10 m) and year-round outdoor pool (18 m) with 3.5% salt water; lecture hall; treatment rooms |
| Entrance level of the main building (1,488 m² refurbished) | reception, Energy Cuisine restaurant, boutique, fireplace lounge, tea room, library |
| Second basement level | main treatment and diagnostic zone; three-room cryotherapy chamber (−110 °C), dermatology, spaces for yoga, shiatsu and movement |
Building biology and a sleep-friendly environment
The architecture serves the therapy. Interiors follow the building-biology principles tested at Tegernsee: no synthetic finishes, insulation, paints and varnishes screened for ecological and toxicological safety, untreated cedar and timber, muted bronze and grey tones.
- natural-wood beds, loden and linen fabrics, mineral paints, gypsum walls, cherrywood parquet, walnut furniture
- a mains cut-off switch in the room to reduce electromagnetic exposure at night
- floor-to-ceiling windows; steam or infrared showers in some rooms, a private sauna in the Panorama Suite
- no bar, no alcohol and no room service — part of the therapeutic regime
Linking “sleep protection” to specific features (mains cut-off, no synthetics) is the company’s positioning; there is no clinical data on how these features affect resort guests. company data
Room inventory and density
67 rooms and suites with about 120 beds; 17 categories, from 20 m² single rooms to a 100 m² suite. No children under 16 and no pets. With about 9,000–10,000 m² of total area there are 134–149 m² per key — more compact than the group’s newer resorts, which have twice the area per key.
Gross area per key, m²
Staff numbered 106 for 67 rooms (2016/17), with an average tenure of about 11 years; that is 1.6 employees per room — moderate for a medical resort and lower than at Sylt (150–200 staff for 70 guests, according to the owner).
Part 5 of 6
Medical model: team, method, diagnostics
Medical team
The medical director of Lanserhof Lans since January 2019 is Dr Katharina Sandtner. She grew up in Lans and, while studying at the Medical University of Innsbruck, worked at the resort in the night medical service, the therapy department and at reception; after hospital rotations in Hall and Innsbruck she returned as a general practitioner and became deputy medical director in 2015. Her predecessor, Dr Georg Kettenhuber, remained connected with the group. Sandtner holds diplomas in Mayr medicine, neural therapy and orthomolecular medicine; publicly she presents the apheresis and weight-loss injection programmes.
Resort physicians (company data)
| Physician | Role | Specialty |
|---|---|---|
| Dr Katharina Sandtner | medical director | general medicine; Mayr medicine, neural and orthomolecular therapy |
| Dr Gudrun Metzler | deputy medical director | general medicine |
| Dr Theresa Thurner | physician | internal medicine and cardiology |
| Priv.-Doz. Dr Katharina Kurz | physician | internal medicine; per the study, infectious diseases and the Long COVID programme |
| Dr Dinah Putz-Gergely | physician | internal medicine; per the study, nephrology |
| Dr Stephanie Fresser | physician | internal medicine |
| Dr Perpetua Walser | physician | internal medicine |
| Dr Nina Berensmeier | physician | internal medicine |
| Dr Daniela Zojer | physician | general and family medicine |
Besides the physicians, the company names a laboratory manager, a medical office manager and guest relations; the hotel is run by a hotel manager. The study also mentions a neural therapy physician who is not on the current team list. The number of therapists, masseurs and sports specialists is not disclosed.
The LANS Med Concept: six disciplines
The method, developed in Lans over more than 40 years and the basis of the whole network, combines conventional medicine (internal medicine, cardiology, sports medicine) with naturopathic and regenerative approaches. In its 2026 brochure the company describes it through twelve “determinants of health”: vital ageing, information medicine, phytotherapy and orthomolecular medicine, sleep medicine and biorhythms, detox and regeneration, psyche and emotions, physical medicine, aesthetics, movement, check-up and advanced diagnostics, nutrition. company data
Six core disciplines (per the study)
| Discipline | What it covers |
|---|---|
| Modern F.X. Mayr medicine | gentle fasting, bowel cleansing, manual abdominal treatment by a physician, slow-chewing training |
| Energy Cuisine nutrition | gentle seasonal organic cuisine with strict meal timing |
| Orthomolecular and infusion therapy | replenishing vitamins, minerals and trace elements, individual infusions, NAD+, ozonated autologous blood |
| Psychoneuroimmunology and chronomedicine | breathing practice, qigong, meditation, hypnosis, psychological counselling, sleep medicine |
| Naturopathic physical therapy | osteopathy, craniosacral therapy, shiatsu, acupuncture, neural therapy, reflexology, packs and baths |
| Preventive diagnostics | laboratory, genetics, microbiome, functional and sports diagnostics |
Mayr medicine and Energy Cuisine
The foundation is modern F.X. Mayr medicine: the gut is treated as the central organ of metabolism and immunity, and the course is built on gentle fasting, bowel cleansing, regular manual abdominal treatment by a physician (to stimulate peristalsis and lymph flow) and re-training eating habits towards slow chewing. The resort also offers colon hydrotherapy, detox packs with hay, moor, zeolite and algae, alkaline, salt and magnesium baths, the Schiele circulation bath and a hydroelectric bath.
Lanserhof Energy Cuisine is a personalised gentle cuisine of seasonal organic produce with fixed meal times; the doctor sets the diet level, down to tea fasting. The resort sells cookbooks, supplements and cosmetics to continue the regime at home; in 2025 the group announced its own supplements and cosmetics line.
Diagnostics
Laboratory diagnostics are run with partner laboratories in Germany, Austria and Scandinavia; results of special tests may arrive after departure. Basic measurements are included in the programmes, extended modules are prescribed by the doctor and charged separately.
Diagnostic modules
| Block | Contents |
|---|---|
| Micronutrients (mini / midi / maxi) | vitamin profile, whole-blood minerals, amino acids, fatty acids |
| Gut and intolerances | microbiome, stool analysis, lactose, fructose and SIBO breath tests, capsule endoscopy, histamine profile |
| Immunity and metabolism | immune status, micro-immunology profiles, heavy metals, glucose tolerance test |
| Hormones and stress | blood and saliva hormone profiles, daily cortisol profile, neurotransmitters |
| Genetics | prevention panel covering more than 90 genes, pharmacogenetics, risk profiles |
| Functional diagnostics | Fibroscan (liver elastography), spiroergometry (VO2max), basal metabolic rate, bioimpedance, lactate, heart rate variability, ultrasound |
The company cites its own sleep laboratory (since 2000) as a Lans distinction. The study also mentions telomere length measurement, echocardiography and endoscopy; the 2026 price list does not list them explicitly. company data
Technologies and treatments
Key modalities
| Modality | What it is | How it is used at Lans |
|---|---|---|
| INUSpheresis® | extracorporeal plasma filtration: blood passes through a filter and is returned; as the company describes it, to remove inflammatory mediators, lipoproteins and toxic substances | 180-minute session; 7-night programme from €7,920 excluding room; sauna, cryotherapy and flying are not advised after a session |
| Cryotherapy chamber | short exposure to −110 °C, up to three minutes, 1–2 times a day | three-room chamber since 2017; part of longevity, recovery and aesthetics programmes |
| CellGym (IHHT) | intermittent hypoxia–hyperoxia training with biofeedback, 45-minute session | 2–3 sessions a week; energy, longevity and post-COVID programmes |
| Weight-loss injection management | medical selection and supervision of GLP-1 agonist therapy with nutrition and training to preserve muscle mass | separate 7–16-night programme, from €5,358 excluding room |
| Infusions and laser | individual infusions, NAD+, ozonated autologous blood, intravascular laser therapy | prescribed by the doctor on top of the package |
| Water plasma (Plasma Stream) | inhalation and local application of “water plasma” | 50- and 80-minute sessions |
| Aesthetics | PRP, mesotherapy, medical needling, neuromodulators, HydraFacial, INDIBA | face, hair and body modules plus a separate dermatology brochure |
According to the study, Lans was where the group first introduced INUSpheresis and the Long COVID programme before rolling them out to its other resorts; the company does not state this explicitly. research estimate, not confirmed by filings
What is known about the evidence base
Few clinical studies on Lanserhof Lans guests have been published. Therapeutic apheresis is used in clinical medicine for strict indications; data on the benefit of preventive apheresis in healthy people and in post-COVID syndrome are still scarce, and large controlled trials have not been completed. For therapeutic fasting and calorie restriction there are studies of short-term improvement in metabolic markers, but long-term outcomes are poorly studied. The company’s descriptions of the effects of cryotherapy, IHHT, “water plasma” and several energy therapies rest mainly on its own experience.
The resort itself warns that reimbursement by private insurance is not guaranteed — an indirect reflection of the complementary status of many of its methods.
Part 6 of 6
Network, competitors, recognition and risks
The Lanserhof network
By the end of 2026 the network comprises three resorts, two city centres and a resort under construction in Spain. According to the company, the group employs more than 700 people, including more than 200 doctors, therapists and longevity specialists. company data
Group properties
| Property | Location | Opened | Scale |
|---|---|---|---|
| Lanserhof Lans | Lans, Tyrol, Austria | 1984; new wing 2017 | 67 keys, ≈ 9,000–10,000 m² |
| Lanserhof Tegernsee | Marienstein / Waakirchen, Bavaria, Germany | 2014 | ≈ 70 keys, 21,000 m², over 5,000 m² medical research estimate, not confirmed by filings |
| Lanserhof Sylt | List, island of Sylt, Germany | 2022 | 55 rooms and suites, ≈ 20,000 m²; ≈ €130m sources disagree |
| Lanserhof at The Arts Club | London, Mayfair | 2019 | medical gym and clinic |
| LANS Medicum | Hamburg | 2012 | outpatient centre, cardiology |
| Lanserhof Marbella | Casares, Andalusia, Spain (Finca Cortesín) | under construction since 2024; opening 2027 sources disagree | 70 keys, ≈ 24,000 m²; >€100m |
Marbella’s opening date has moved: in 2024 it was given as late 2026, in coverage of the 2025 deal as 2027. The group also plans a rehabilitation clinic with an academy in Hamburg. sources disagree
Lans within the group
Medical programmes cost almost the same at every resort (per the study, Classic for 7 nights is €2,940 at Lans and Tegernsee and €2,980 at Sylt), so the entry-price gap comes from the rooms. Lans has compact single rooms in the historic building, so its minimum week is the most affordable in the network.
Minimum week: basic programme + entry-level room, €
Lans 2026: €2,940 + 7 × €350; flat rate 7 × €63. Other resorts per the study.
The lower entry price does not hurt ratings: in the RELAX Guide 2026, Lans, like Tegernsee, has the top 4 lilies and 20 out of 20 points (cuisine 9.8, ambience 10.0, natural setting 9.9, wellness area 9.7, value 9.8), Sylt 3 lilies and 17 points. Lans guests are older on average, though: 53 versus 47 at Tegernsee (2017 data).
The study puts the group’s average guest age at 40–45; the company’s 2017 data for Lans (53) do not support this. sources disagree
European competitors
Lans competes in two sets: classic Mayr medicine resorts in Austria (neighbouring Park Igls, VIVAMAYR, MAYRLIFE) and premium longevity clinics (SHA, Chenot, Palazzo Fiuggi, Clinique La Prairie). Its entry weekly price is comparable to the Mayr resorts, its medical depth to the longevity clinics.
Comparison (entry price — 7 nights with an entry-level room, per the study)
| Property | Location, opening | Keys | 7-night entry | Profile |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lanserhof Lans | Lans, Austria; 1984 / 2017 | 67 | €5,390 (2026) | Mayr medicine, apheresis, cryotherapy, Long COVID; RELAX Guide 20/20 |
| Lanserhof Tegernsee | Bavaria, Germany; 2014 | ≈ 70 | €8,435 research estimate, not confirmed by filings | sports medicine, cardiology, genetics, dermatology |
| Lanserhof Sylt | Sylt, Germany; 2022 | 55 | €6,440–6,480 research estimate, not confirmed by filings | in-house MRI and CT, cardiorespiratory rehabilitation |
| Park Igls | Igls, Austria; spa since 1905 | — | programme from ≈ €2,951 + room from €576 research estimate, not confirmed by filings | Mayr medicine; RELAX Guide 2 lilies |
| VIVAMAYR Maria Wörth | Carinthia, Austria | 46 | €5,415 research estimate, not confirmed by filings | strict Mayr medicine, about two staff per guest |
| MAYRLIFE Altaussee | Styria, Austria | 70 | €5,085 research estimate, not confirmed by filings | Mayr medicine, metabolic correction |
| SHA Wellness Clinic | Alicante, Spain; 2008 | 93 | ≈ €3,500 research estimate, not confirmed by filings | integrative medicine, macrobiotics, longevity |
| Chenot Palace Weggis | Lake Lucerne, Switzerland; 2020 | 97 | ≈ €8,500 research estimate, not confirmed by filings | Chenot method, detox |
| Palazzo Fiuggi | Lazio, Italy | 102 | ≈ €12,000 research estimate, not confirmed by filings | Mediterranean medical retreat on mineral waters |
| Clinique La Prairie | Montreux, Switzerland | — | ≈ CHF 19,000 research estimate, not confirmed by filings | ultra-premium longevity programme |
7-night entry price, €k
Clinics define the entry package differently (what the programme includes, single or double occupancy), so competitor figures are a guide rather than a like-for-like comparison. research estimate, not confirmed by filings
Recognition and rankings
Lanserhof Lans awards and ratings
- RELAX Guide Austria4 lilies, 20/20 points — top grade2026
- Falstaff Spa Guide98 points2026
- Global Recognition AwardsLuxury Spas & Wellness Retreats2026
- Gault&Millau Austriabest medical cure hotels2021
- European Health & Spa AwardBest Medical Spa, five years running20092010201120122013 company data
- First industry award as Europe’s leading health resort2004 company data
The group’s recent awards (World Spa Awards and others) mostly go to Lanserhof Tegernsee and should not be attributed to Lans. The 2009–2013 awards were won while Lans was the network’s only resort.
Observations for developers and investors
- Making the medical programme a condition of stay turns medicine into the main revenue source and removes dependence on weekend hotel demand; the seven-night minimum and Sunday arrivals simplify doctors’ and therapists’ schedules.
- Separating room and programme with an open price list lets the operator raise programme prices (doubled in a decade) and room rates (+21% in 2026) independently.
- Compact 20 m² single rooms are a strong tool: 70% of guests travel alone, and such rooms earn as much per square metre as suites.
- A targeted €25m rebuild (≈ €4,270 per m²) renewed the product without closing the resort or adding keys; the practice that designed Tegernsee carried over proven solutions.
- Asset-light operator: judging by the balance sheet, real estate and capital spending sit outside the operating company; an investor needs consolidated group accounts, not only the operator’s balance sheet.
- The network’s oldest resort is its test bed: new methods (apheresis, weight-loss injection management, Long COVID) appear here as high-priced paid modules.
- Short four-night retreats attract new guests and fill rooms at the start and end of the week without diluting the core product.
Risks
Risks to the property and the model
Medical and regulatory
mediumApheresis and weight-loss injection therapy are medical interventions with indication and safety requirements; stricter rules or adverse study findings would hit the most expensive modules.
Evidence base
mediumFor several methods (energy therapy, “water plasma”, preventive apheresis) evidence is still thin; reputational risk grows with the brand’s profile.
Scale and ageing
medium67 keys and about 10,000 m² against 20,000–24,000 m² at the group’s newer resorts; most rooms are in a 1970s building, and the next refurbishment will mean taking rooms out of service.
Financial transparency
mediumThe operator discloses only its balance sheet; negative 2024 equity and intra-group balances make it impossible to value the property without group accounts. research estimate, not confirmed by filings
Key-person dependence
lowThe group has been run by its partners since 1998; outside investors since 2025 reduce the risk, but strategy is still tied to the co-founder CEO.
Demand concentration
lowThe core audience is German-speaking; with a high share of repeat guests (68%), any fall in their spending power quickly shows in occupancy. research estimate, not confirmed by filings
Cannibalisation within the network
lowMarbella’s opening and growth at Tegernsee and Sylt may divert some guests to newer resorts with larger rooms.
Where data is still thin
Not disclosed: revenue, profit and occupancy of the Lans resort after 2017; the group’s consolidated accounts; who owns the buildings and on what terms they are provided to the operator; the stakes of the partners and new investors; headcount; the exact area of the complex and details of the design team beyond the architect. Few clinical outcomes of the resort’s programmes have been published in peer-reviewed journals.